Interreg Atlantic Area 2021-2027

A brand new programme, renewed commitment with the Atlantic regions

The next Interreg Atlantic Area 2021-2027 has formally started with a Task Force composed of representatives of the four countries involved - Portugal, Spain, Ireland and France, the Managing Authority, the Joint Secretariat and the European Commission. This Task Force has been meeting several times since 2020 for the design and development of the new Atlantic Area programme. This programme was submitted for approval by the European Commission in March 2022.

On the 8th of September 2022 the European Commission has formally approved the Interreg Atlantic Area Programme 2021-2027!

With a brand new Atlantic Area Programme about to start, we renew the commitment with the Atlantic regions in the support of innovative initiatives that contribute to the growth of this area, solving common challenges across border through the implementation of joint actions, exchange of good practices and contribution to new or current policies.

Programme objectives

The programme supports cooperation in the following indicative thematic priorities and specific objectives, based on the outcomes of the territorial analysis:

(please note that the transnational programme is still under approval by the European Commission and changes may occur)

1. Blue innovation and competitiveness (Smarter Europe)

1.1 Developing and enhancing research and innovation capacities and the uptake of advanced  technologies

1.2 Reaping the benefits of digitalisation for citizens, companies, research organisation and public authoritities

2. Blue and green environment (Greener Europe)

2.1 Promoting energy efficiency and reducing greenhouse gas emissions

2.2 Promoting climate change adaptation and disaster risk prevention, resilience, taking into account eco-system-based approaches

2.3 Promoting the transition to a circular and resource efficient economy

2.4 Enhancing protection and preservation of nature, biodiversity and green infrastructure, including in urban areas, and reducing all forms of pollution

3. Blue sustainable tourism and culture (Social Europe)

3.1 Enhancing the role of culture and tourism in economic development, social inclusion and social innovation

4. A better governance for cooperation (Interreg objective)


The programme budget for 2021-2027 corresponds to EUR 113 million from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).

The co-financing rate for projects approved is up to 75% of the total investment.

Who can benefit from funding?

The Atlantic Area community is made of business support organisations, social enterprises, third sector organisations, public authorities, education and training organisations, environmental protection agencies, local communities, civil society clusters, universities, upper education bodies and research/innovation institutions.

The Atlantic regions

As in the previous programme, the Atlantic Area 2021-2027 covers the western part of the Atlantic Ocean and includes all regions of Ireland and Portugal, as well as several French and Spanish regions close to or on the Atlantic Ocean coast. The total list of 25 regions (NUTS II) is as follows:

España: País Vasco; Navarra; La Rioja; Cantabria; Principado de Asturias; Galicia; Andalucía; Islas Canarias.

France: Haute Normandie; Basse Normandie; Pays-de-la-Loire; Bretagne; Aquitaine; Limousin; Poitou-Charentes.

Ireland: Northern and Western; Southern; Eastern and Midland.

Portugal: Norte; Algarve; Centro; Lisboa; Alentejo; Região Autónoma das Açores; Região Autónoma de Madeira.

Call for Proposals

The calendar for call of proposals is not defined yet. As soon as this information is available, it will be published on this website.

Information & Communication

In this period, Interreg has an harmonised brand for all programmes, that follows the European Commission guidance in terms of information & communication. You can find here the Interreg Brand Manual.

We are currently working on the Interreg Atlantic Area new brand identity and website to promote the visibility of the programme.

To learn more about the Communicating Cohesion Policy 2021-2027 click here.


Common Provisions Regulation for shared funds (CPR): Regulation (EU) 2021/1060

European Regional Development Fund Regulation (ERDF): Regulation (EU) 2021/1058

European Territorial Cooperation Regulation (Interreg): Regulation (EU) 2021/1059